The Goals of this Blog and other stuff

I realize that since the creation of this blog, although a lot of things have changed and evolved, I haven’t really posted on them. The main reason for this was because my blog’s purpose is to just review anime, not be a personal place for me to spout nonsense and unrelated things (that’s what twitter is for!). I don’t really want this to be a personal blog for me, where I post what I’m thinking or feeling on a certain day or whatever. I don’t want to keep making posts about what I’m doing, and what I’m doing to the blog. But I think it’s only fair to make it clear exactly what I’m trying to do with this blog. Plus I just want to get a few things straight about me. This is just a place where I post reviews. And why do I review what I review anyway? I guess I haven’t really made that clear.

My aim with this blog at first was to just review things I enjoyed. But it has since evolved into something much more then that. My purpose with this blog is (has become?)  to review anime movies, TV series, and OVAs which aren’t well known, but should be! There’s plenty of anime out there that we’ve all seen. And tons of blogs covering them. And theres even more blogs that write about what’s airing this season. That’s great for them, but I want to do something a little different. Not to say there aren’t others out there who cover this too. But hey it’s what I’m good at. And there’s not 500 other people who do it. I’m going to continue to try and draw attention to the more obscure series out there with this blog. The shows which are old, and forgotten. The new stuff no one seems to watch. The weird things no one ever heard of. And the old classics that have their fans, but need more love. The stuff that when you read the review you go “Ohhhh I remember that! I loved it! haven’t seen it in 15 years!” And then you go out and buy the DVD.  That’s the kind of stuff I try and review. And yes I try and point out where you can buy/legally watch the anime I am reviewing Sometimes I don’t, and that usually means it’s really easy to find. But sometimes I just forget and I apologize. But with a little digging I’m sure you can find the show. Everything I review is avaible to buy or watch legally in North America, at least it was at one point. Some have been out of print for years and may be hard to track down but others while out of print, have been re-released so many times you can find them easily and buy the DVD incredibly cheaply.

And if just one person watches something because of me, and falls in love  with it, then I’m happy. That won’t be all I’m doing of course. I will continue to review stuff that I watch and it just blows me away, even if everyone knows about it. I will continue to review stuff that I just love, period. That’s why the blog is named after me after all! But that won’t be the main point. To be honest it hasn’t been for a long time now, and most of you figured that out. Now I can’t claim that I got the idea to turn this blog into this all by myself. It didn’t just pop into my head.  No, for years I’ve been reading and been inspired by Justin Sevakis’s Burried Treasure reviews. Which was an amazing column used to point out all the old gems (and occasional garbage that’s been forgotten for years). And since he’s stopped writing that I’ve been reading The Mike Tool Show. Which is also great at that! And then you have the AWO podcast which I’ve listened too for a long time now. I love that they cover lots of old things that need more love. And all of these guys write (or talk) much better then I can. So you should totally check them out if you haven’t yet. These reviewers, especially Justin Sevakis of ANN have really inspired me to do a similar kind of thing. Now my blog isn’t a carbon copy of “Buried Treasure” or anything, and I don’t plan to make it into one. I’ve reviewed plenty of new things, and will continue to do so. But point to him, and the many other professionals out there if you want a reason why I review what I review.

And the other main thing I try to do in my reviews is cover the dub. Yes I’m a huge dub fan. I explained why, and why I like to listen to the dubs last year on the Otaku in Review Podcast. Not everyone is going to agree with my opinions of “x” dub or “y” actor, but at least you’ll get a general idea of what the dub sounds like. Like John O’Donnell of Central Park Media once said, whether you are a dub or sub fan is all personal preference. There’s no “right” or “wrong” way to watch a show. Just watch it the way you want to. And I hope sub fans can get plenty out of my reviews (and I sure hope they’ve been happy with them thus far).

As I said before, I do plan to expand this blog, to include a few other things, like top ten lists. But don’t expect this to turn into much more then a site to post my reviews.

I also just want to point out that I also write for The Fanboy Review. So far I have reviewed To Heart but I have plenty of other reviews written for the site, and they’ll be posted soon.

Since I started writing this blog, I only really made one post where I really say much about who I am. So hear I go (again). My real name is Michael. I live in New Jersey, and have for all my life (although I’ve visited plenty of places!). I’m 21 years old and a Junior in College.  I’ve been a fan of anime since I was a little kid. My first series was Speed Racer, because my dad is a fan of that (and only that). But I grew up in the 90’s, so I saw Dragon Ball Z and Sailor Moon and plenty of others while still pretty young. Other early anime for me included Akira, Blood: The Last Vampire, Dominion: Tank Police, and plenty of others on VHS and DVD. And then later of course stuff like  Cowboy Bebop, and Trigun (although I still haven’t seen all of this) on Adult Swim, and Yu-Gi-Oh on the WB.. My all time favorite anime is FLCL, although a close second is Now and Then, Here and There . I have a huge library of anime DVDs and live action DVDs. And I have an even bigger library of live action VHS tapes. Although only a small amount of anime on VHS. If there’s anything else you want to know about me you can always check out my MAL page. Although I’ve probably bored you enough already.

I should have posted all this stuff when I moved the site from Blogger to WordPress, but I guess I was lazy. Hope this wasn’t too long or too odd of a post.

4 Responses to “The Goals of this Blog and other stuff”

  1. deathfromabove1993 Says:

    I’m very happy to hear that you’ll be continuing the blog. Your reviews are always interesting to read. : )

  2. Heh yeah. Glad you like the reviews! I’m not going anywhere!

    I only wrote this post to make it 100% clear why I review what I review. And also to point out what the purpose of the blog is, and who I am. I kind of feel over time that’s been lost. Not everyone coming here knows me from twitter, MAL, or Anime on DVD, so I just want them to know who I am too. Thanks for the comment

  3. I’m glad we have a reviewer digging into the past! So much good stuff out there (and I’ve seen more of it than the new stuff :/) so I’ll be sure to comment ;).

  4. Wow thank you so much! I have a few nice gems I plan to review in the upcoming weeks, for this site and Fanboy Reviews. I will look forward to your comments.

Leave a Reply

